jump to navigation

Junky Trunk’s First 5k June 16, 2009

Posted by junkytrunk in Fitness, Uncategorized.
trackback
Mr. Fingerbottom, Fried Kwapao, Junky Trunk and Ninjarap joined by non-loser couple Tootsie and Bem

Mr. Fingerbottom, Fried Kwapao, Junky Trunk and Ninjarap joined by non-loser couple Tootsie and Bem

Ninjarap and I had a great start on June 14 by actually waking up on time (4:00 am to be exact) because Mr. Fingerbottom was going to swing by for us at 5:00am. I admit, I had some doubts about myself that morning; thinking about how I lacked sleep, I had only a banana for breakfast, and, well, I’m a really inexperienced runner (as in. really.).

But when we got to UP, the sun was up and so was my adrenalin. Seeing everyone warming up — young, old, fat, fit, in costume, in serious running gear, etc. This was it!

And well, long story short — I made it! 46 minutes, not bad for a first run according to Fried Kwapao. Mr. Fingerbottom clocked in 3 minutes later (his only advantage being that this was his second 5k run. Nice one Mr. FB!). Ninjarap and Kwapao ran the 10k clocking in at 1 hr. 6 mins. and 1 hr. 10 mins respectively.

I may have only gotten a measly yellow T-shirt, but I will wear it with pride. I may not have won any of the cool raffle prizes, but I won a battle I never thought I could conquer.

iPod Playlist Highlights:
These songs got me through it…

  • Totally Mental – Overtone (because at some point, I really thought I had lost my mind for being there)
  • Let’s Get Fucked Up & Die – Motion City Soundtrack (hmm, I see a pattern here)
  • Basket Case – Green Day (yep. definitely a pattern.)
  • Just A Girl – No Doubt
  • Celebrity Skin – Hole
  • Everybody’s Free (To Wear Sunscreen) – Baz Luhrman (this is Ninjarap’s iPod highlight)

Breakfast of Champions:
After the race, we proceeded to FlapJacks at UP-AyalaLand Technohub for a “healthy”, celebratory meal.

Ninjarap's Healthy vs. Human eggwhite omelette and pancake

Ninjarap's Healthy vs. Human eggwhite omelette and pancake

My Hypocrite Breakfast of asian chicken salad and a side of french fries (hey, I think I deserved it!)

My Hypocrite Breakfast of asian chicken salad and a side of french fries (hey, I think I deserved it!)

The Next Run:
Are you in or out, losers?!

You get thinner and more fit. You get a cool singlet. And it's for the environment. It's a win, win, win!

You get thinner and more fit. You get a cool singlet. And it's for the environment. It's a win, win, win!

Comments»

1. ninjarapsarap - June 17, 2009

Hooray for everyone! Let’s go put k2 on the running map! haha.


Leave a Reply

